F3: Devlin DeFrancesco second in practice at Silverstone


Max Fewtrell ensured the British race weekend got underway with a countryman on top, lapping quickest around the freshly laid Silverstone circuit to top the times in this morning’s FIA Formula 3 Free Practice.

The ART Grand Prix man ran ahead of Trident’s Devlin DeFrancesco and teammate David Beckmann, who both secured their highest practice positions of the campaign to date. It was the third ART machine which got the session underway, as Christian Lundgaard set the early pace in cool 17 degree temperatures.

Fellow Englishman Jake Hughes and Leonardo Pulcini then exchanged places at the top, as the grid warmed up their tyres. There was plenty of traffic on track in the opening minutes as the cars got a taste of the new tarmac and PREMA soon took control of the session with Championship leaders Robert Shwartzman and Jehan Daruvala leading the times. That was as good as it got for the PREMA duo who quickly dropped down the order. Pulcini and Beckmann began to battle it out in first, but Fewtrell then emerged as the frontrunner in front of his home crowd. 

Ye Yifei briefly claimed first ahead of the ART man, but the latter bounced back by breaking the 1m 46s barrier with just two minutes on the clock. DeFrancesco was able to set a time good enough for second, while Beckmann couldn’t improve on his teammate’s time and nestled in at third ahead of Yifei and Lirim Zendeli. Yuki Tsunoda, Lundgaard, Raoul Hyman, Pulcini and Daruvala completed the top ten.  Fewtrell will look to keep up his early weekend pace when the cars return to the track for Qualifying at 4.50pm (local time). 

FIA Formula 3 – Silverstone Free Practice classification

1Max FewtrellART Grand Prix1:45.26418
2Devlin DeFrancescoTrident1:45.48718
3David BeckmannART Grand Prix1:45.58319
4Ye YifeiHitech Grand Prix1:45.60620
5Lirim ZendeliSauber Junior Team by Charouz1:45.67219
6Yuki TsunodaJenzer Motorsport1:45.77920
7Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:45.99819
8Raoul HymanSauber Junior Team by Charouz1:46.18519
9Leonardo PulciniHitech Grand Prix1:46.22215
10Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:46.26415
11Fabio SchererSauber Junior Team by Charouz1:46.27020
12Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:46.39616
13Felipe DrugovichCarlin Buzz Racing1:46.42817
14Juri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:46.55317
15Niko KariTrident1:46.57816
16Pedro PiquetTrident1:46.68116
17Sebastian FernandezCampos Racing1:46.74318
18Logan SargeantCarlin Buzz Racing1:46.76717
19Andreas EstnerJenzer Motorsport1:46.84321
20Marcus ArmstrongPREMA Racing1:46.85014
21Alex PeroniCampos Racing1:47.09617
22Liam LawsonMP Motorsport1:47.20117
23Simo LaaksonenMP Motorsport1:47.22016
24Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:47.23516
25Teppei NatoriCarlin Buzz Racing1:47.47718
26Jake HughesHWA RACELAB1:47.63718
27Federico MalvestitiJenzer Motorsport1:47.87621
28Keyvan AndresHWA RACELAB1:48.31519
29Bent ViscaalHWA RACELAB1:48.94619
30Alessio DeleddaCampos Racing1:49.12420

From FIA Formula 3 press release

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.