Michelin Pilot Challenge: Kyle Marcelli and Jesse Lazare on the podium


Again the Michelin Pilot Challenge proved to be very competitive and not only for the win.

Several contacts happened between competitors early on in the 2-hour race and unfortunately the race lost competitive cars from the incidents.

Unfortunately for Compass Racing and Kuno Wittmer did not see the checkered flag as Wittmer’s teammate Paul Rees had to retire the car after only 15 laps.

Motorsport In Action(MIA) with Lazare/Fergus have moved up the field early on from seventh at the start to stay in contention during the entire race. At the front some good battles took place all the way to the checkered flag.

Same for Kohr Motorsports Kyle Marcelli/Stacey, having started in fourth, kept themselves in contention for the win.

With just over 20 minutes, second place starter Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis had to retire their car.

At the checkered flag, the win went to Rebel Rock Racing of Robin Ridell and Franck DePew with a margin of 0.587 second from Kohr Motorsports Kyle Marcelli and Nate Stacey. Third place went to MIA of Jesse Lazare/Corey Fergus 3.4 seconds behind the winners.

Scott Hargrove and Orey Fidani finished in 11th place in the AWA Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport.

In TCR, James Vance driving the #23 Fast MD Racing Audi RS3 LMS, ended up sixth in class for a 23rd place overall. The #81 Mark Motors Racing entry of Marco Cirone/Remo Ruscitti finished eight in class for 25rd overall.

Next race for the Michelin Pilot Challenge will take place at Lime Rock Park on July 19-20.

Images: PMstills Photography

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.